Read The Plaque http://read-the-plaque.appspot.com Always read the plaque en-us The Oldest Wood School in the USA http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-oldest-wood-school-in-the-usa http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/the-oldest-wood-school-in-the-usa 2017-03-26 02:47:06.969640 The Oldest Wood School in the USA The Oldest Wood School in the USA

]]>
St. Augustine Slave Market http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/st-augustine-slave-market http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/st-augustine-slave-market 2017-03-26 02:39:01.072370 St. Augustine Slave Market St. Augustine Slave Market

]]>
Public Well http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/public-well http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/public-well 2017-03-26 02:37:55.731370 Public Well Public Well

The well was used from 1823 to the early 1880's. The remnants lay buried and forgotten until City of St. Augustine Public Works employees discovered the well, with assistance from the St. Augustine Archaeological Association, while renovating the historic Plaza de las Constitucion in 1995. The well was reconstructed using archaeological data and an 1879 photograph.

]]>
Espinosa-Sanchez House http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/espinosa-sanchez-house http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/espinosa-sanchez-house 2017-03-26 02:35:48.306010 Espinosa-Sanchez House Espinosa-Sanchez House

]]>
USPS Anthony J. Cortese http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/usps-anthony-j-cortese http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/usps-anthony-j-cortese 2017-03-25 18:34:31.292770 USPS Anthony J. Cortese USPS Anthony J. Cortese

Hidden in plain sight at the front of the building, two plaques spanning 42 years apart.

Submitted by: iDogCow                            

]]>
Gen. James M. Kennedy Hospital http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/gen-james-m-kennedy-hospital http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/gen-james-m-kennedy-hospital 2017-03-24 19:46:25.068700 Gen. James M. Kennedy Hospital Gen. James M. Kennedy Hospital

A U.S. Army hospital on this site treated more than 44,000 combat veterans during World War II. Opened Jan. 23, 1943, it was named for the late Brig. Gen. James M. Kennedy, distinguished Army surgeon and veteran of both the Spanish-American War and World War I. The hospital was turned over to the Veterans Administration in 1946. The property became the South Campus of Memphis State University in 1967.

Submitted from the Shelby County Register's Office.

]]>
Annie Cook Memorial http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/annie-cook-memorial http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/annie-cook-memorial 2017-03-24 19:45:54.449910 Annie Cook Memorial Annie Cook Memorial

Annie Cook Born 1840 Died Of Yellow Fever 1878 A Nineteenth Century Mary Magdalene Who Gave Her Life While Trying To Save The Lives Of Others. Erected By Mr. And Mrs. J. D. Taylor And The Brothers Of The Sacred Heart, S.C. April 5, 1979

Submitted from the Shelby County Register's Office.

]]>
John Gaston http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/john-gaston http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/john-gaston 2017-03-24 19:45:23.654420 John Gaston John Gaston

French immigrant John Gaston opened Gaston's Hotel here in 1883. The hotel was a popular stay for celebrities, most notably Oscar Wilde. Gaston's second wife Teresa, who was also his step-daughter from a previous marriage, used the fortune he made in the hotel business to found John Gaston Hospital after his death in 1912.

Submitted from the Shelby County Register's Office.

]]>
Gayoso Hotel http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/gayoso-hotel http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/gayoso-hotel 2017-03-24 19:43:11.030500 Gayoso Hotel Gayoso Hotel

Opened in 1842, named for the early Spanish governor, this hotel's main entrance was originally here. Capt. William H. Forrest, raiding into Memphis under his famous brother in the early morning of August 21, 1864, rode his horse into the lobby, searching for Maj. Gen. Stephen A Hurlburt, quartered in the hotel, who was then sleeping elsewhere.

Submitted from the Shelby County Register's Office.

]]>
From Elk Tracks to BART Tracks http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/from-elk-tracks-to-bart-tracks http://readtheplaque.com/plaque/from-elk-tracks-to-bart-tracks 2017-03-24 19:40:43.614040 From Elk Tracks to BART Tracks From Elk Tracks to BART Tracks

]]>